Skip to content
anavem.com

NewsPublished 2 min read

Otter adds AI Chat Connectors and Desktop app (Apr 2026)

On April 28, 2026 Otter.ai released AI Chat Connectors, a rebuilt AI Chat and Otter for Desktop on Mac and Windows. The release does not state plan limits.

By Emanuel DE ALMEIDA · Editor

In this article
  1. What changed
  2. What this does not say
  3. Affected profile
Editorial evidence card for Otter adds AI Chat Connectors and Desktop app (Apr 2026)

Key takeaways

Documented
  • Answer: On April 28, 2026 Otter.ai released AI Chat Connectors, a rebuilt AI Chat and Otter for Desktop on Mac and Windows. The release does not state plan limits.
  • Evidence: Based on 1 dated primary or official source, most recently checked .
  • Scope: This article does not claim hands-on testing. Performance or safety verdicts require a linked test record.

Otter.ai announced three releases on April 28, 2026: AI Chat Connectors that make Otter an MCP client and server, a rebuilt AI Chat, and Otter for Desktop for Mac and Windows. Otter says all are available today. This affects Otter users who connect other work tools or capture audio outside scheduled meetings.

What changed

Event date: April 28, 2026, as stated in Otter's press release.

Otter calls the release a "Conversational Knowledge Engine." The release names three parts.

AI Chat Connectors. Otter acts as an MCP client, so users can pull live data into Otter AI Chat from Gmail, Google Drive, Notion, Jira and Salesforce. Otter lists Microsoft Outlook, Teams, SharePoint and Slack as coming soon. Meeting outputs can be pushed to connected tools such as Notion and Gmail. The release also says external AI tools such as ChatGPT and Claude can access meeting history when Otter acts as an MCP server.

Rebuilt AI Chat. Otter says AI Chat is "now private by default" and has been rebuilt into one interface. In its words, users "explore and refine insights privately, then choose exactly if, when, and how to share with their team."

Otter for Desktop. The app runs on Mac and Windows. Otter says it captures conversations across any application beyond scheduled meetings, including video calls, voice conversations and internal discussions.

The release states: "All new features are available today."

What this does not say

The press release does not say which plans include each feature. It does not give limits, prices or admin controls for connectors. It does not describe what data Otter sends to or receives from a connected app, how permissions work for external MCP access, or whether connector data is used for model training. The desktop section does not explain how consent or participant notice works when it captures audio outside a calendar meeting. Check Otter's help center and privacy documents before enabling any of these.

Affected profile

See the Anavem profile for Otter.ai. For consent and safety questions, read are AI note takers safe and AI notetaker recording consent.

Tools mentioned

Sources

Get new guides by email

New verified tool profiles, tested workflows and pricing changes. Sponsored items are labelled.