n8n
Workflow and AI agent platform, hosted by n8n or self-hosted, billed per execution
At a glance
n8n is a workflow automation and AI agent platform with a visual canvas and custom code. You can use n8n Cloud or self-host it. Paid plans count 'workflow executions', and a free self-hosted Community Edition is available on GitHub.
Best for
Teams that want to build workflows and agents with code and a canvas, and may want to self-host under a source-available licence.
Not for
Not a fit if you need an OSI-approved open-source licence: n8n states it does not call itself open source. Also not a fit if you plan to make n8n available to your customers so they can connect accounts and build workflows: the docs say that use needs a separate commercial agreement.
- Vendor
- n8n
- Pricing model
- Free tier
- Free tier
- Yes
- Open source
- No
- MCP support
- Yes
- Platforms
- Web, Self-hosted (Docker)
- Category
- AI Automation & Agents
Features
- GitHub README: 'Fair-code platform to build and deploy AI agents and workflows. Combine a visual canvas with custom code, run it self-hosted or in the cloud' (2026-10-03).
- Billing unit, as n8n defines it: 'an execution is a single run of your entire workflow. It doesn't matter how many steps are in the workflow or how much data it processes' (n8n.io/pricing, 2026-10-03).
- MCP Server Trigger node: lets n8n act as an MCP server, making n8n tools and workflows available to MCP clients (n8n docs, 2026-10-03).
- All plans include 'unlimited users & workflows and every integration' per the pricing page (2026-10-03).
- Business and Enterprise plans are self-hosted; Business includes SSO, SAML and LDAP, queue mode and Git version control (pricing page, 2026-10-03).
- n8n Cloud hardware and data are hosted in the European Union, per the security page; the pricing FAQ names servers in Frankfurt, Germany for hosted plans (2026-10-03).
Limitations
- Licence, repository: the LICENSE file applies the Sustainable Use License v1.0 to content outside the restricted files; source files with '.ee.' in their filename or '.ee' in their dirname need a valid n8n Enterprise License (LICENSE file, 2026-10-03). Use is licensed for internal business, non-commercial or personal purposes, and distribution only free of charge for non-commercial purposes.
- Licence wording: the README says n8n is 'fair-code' and 'Source Available'. The docs state: 'according to the Open Source Initiative (OSI), open source licenses can't include limitations on use, so we do not call ourselves open source' (docs.n8n.io community license, 2026-10-03). The pricing page, as fetched, calls the free tier 'Community Edition' and says 'A standard, self-hosted version of n8n is available on GitHub'; it did not use the words 'open source' in the text read.
- Integration counts differ between n8n pages: the GitHub README text says 1500+ integrations, the GitHub page title says 400+, and the n8n.io homepage says over 500 (all read 2026-10-03). No count is stated here.
- Business plan is self-hosted only; the pricing FAQ says it is 'currently only available for self-hosted n8n' and links a waitlist for a hosted version. Per the same page, 'A credit card is only required for the Business plan free trial.'
- The n8n public API 'isn't available during the free trial' (n8n docs, 2026-10-03).
- The security page read does not state whether customer data is used to train AI models.
Plans and pricing
Prices exactly as stated on the vendor's pricing page, each with the date we checked it.
| Plan | Price | Billing | Limits | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Community EditionPricing page text: 'A standard, self-hosted version of n8n is available on GitHub.' | Free | Free |
| Official pricing pageChecked |
| Enterprise | Contact Sales | Custom |
| Official pricing pageChecked |
| BusinessFree trial requires a credit card (pricing page). | 667€/mo, billed annually | Annual |
| Official pricing pageChecked |
| ProFree trial: no credit card required (pricing page). | 50€/mo, billed annually | Annual |
| Official pricing pageChecked |
| StarterFree trial: no credit card required (pricing page). | 20€/mo, billed annually | Annual |
| Official pricing pageChecked |
Prices change. Confirm the current price on the official page before you buy.
Check n8n pricingPlatforms and integrations
Platforms
- Web
- Self-hosted (Docker)
Quick answers
- Who is n8n for?
- Teams that want to build workflows and agents with code and a canvas, and may want to self-host under a source-available licence. Not a fit if you need an OSI-approved open-source licence: n8n states it does not call itself open source. Also not a fit if you plan to make n8n available to your customers so they can connect accounts and build workflows: the docs say that use needs a separate commercial agreement.
- What does n8n cost?
- Community Edition: Free. Enterprise: Contact Sales. Business: 667€/mo, billed annually. Pro: 50€/mo, billed annually. Starter: 20€/mo, billed annually. Verified Oct 3, 2026 against the official pricing page; prices change, so check it before you buy. n8n pricing guide
- Is there a free plan?
- Yes: Community Edition, with these limits: Self-hosted (GitHub); Licence: Sustainable Use License v1.0 (see limitations).
- Does n8n support MCP?
- Yes, according to the vendor documentation (see the sources on this page). MCP lets AI assistants connect to the tool.
- What are the limitations of n8n?
- Licence, repository: the LICENSE file applies the Sustainable Use License v1.0 to content outside the restricted files; source files with '.ee.' in their filename or '.ee' in their dirname need a valid n8n Enterprise License (LICENSE file, 2026-10-03). Use is licensed for internal business, non-commercial or personal purposes, and distribution only free of charge for non-commercial purposes. Licence wording: the README says n8n is 'fair-code' and 'Source Available'. The docs state: 'according to the Open Source Initiative (OSI), open source licenses can't include limitations on use, so we do not call ourselves open source' (docs.n8n.io community license, 2026-10-03). The pricing page, as fetched, calls the free tier 'Community Edition' and says 'A standard, self-hosted version of n8n is available on GitHub'; it did not use the words 'open source' in the text read. Integration counts differ between n8n pages: the GitHub README text says 1500+ integrations, the GitHub page title says 400+, and the n8n.io homepage says over 500 (all read 2026-10-03). No count is stated here. Business plan is self-hosted only; the pricing FAQ says it is 'currently only available for self-hosted n8n' and links a waitlist for a hosted version. Per the same page, 'A credit card is only required for the Business plan free trial.'. The n8n public API 'isn't available during the free trial' (n8n docs, 2026-10-03). The security page read does not state whether customer data is used to train AI models.
- Which data does n8n access or keep?
- Vendor states 'n8n aligns its security program to SOC 2', that hardware and data are hosted in the European Union, and that customer data at rest is encrypted using Azure Storage server-side encryption (n8n.io/legal/security, 2026-10-03). Self-hosted data stays on your own infrastructure.
- Can I use n8n and its outputs commercially?
- Governed by the Sustainable Use License v1.0 (internal business, non-commercial or personal use) and the n8n Enterprise licence for enterprise files (repository LICENSE, 2026-10-03). Read the licence and the n8n docs licence FAQ for your use case.
- Is there an API?
- Yes. n8n uses API keys for its public REST API, sent in the X-N8N-API-KEY header. Non-Enterprise keys have full account access; scopes are an Enterprise feature. 'The n8n API isn't available during the free trial' (docs.n8n.io, 2026-10-03).
Sources
- n8n pricingaccessed
- n8n homepageaccessed
- n8n GitHub repositoryaccessed
- n8n LICENSE fileaccessed
- n8n docs: Community licenseaccessed
- n8n docs: MCP Server Trigger nodeaccessed
- n8n docs: API authenticationaccessed
- n8n securityaccessed
More on n8n
n8n pricing
n8n defines an execution as one complete run of a workflow, regardless of how many steps it contains or how much data it processes. Hosting and licence needs…
Verified Oct 3, 2026
Make vs n8n vs Zapier for AI Automation
Compare Make, n8n and Zapier by usage unit, hosting model, AI/MCP capabilities and the kind of team that will maintain the workflows.
Verified Oct 3, 2026
Best AI Automation Platforms for Teams
Make, n8n and Zapier compared by billing unit, hosting model, agent/MCP support and maintainability, using current vendor documentation.
Verified Oct 3, 2026
Other tools in AI Automation & Agents
Ordered by most recent verification, never by affiliate status.
Zapier
AI Automation & Agents
Workflow automation connecting apps, with Agents and MCP, billed per task
Relevance AI
AI Automation & Agents
Platform for building AI agents and tools, billed in Actions and Vendor Credits
Make
AI Automation & Agents
Visual automation platform for scenarios and AI agents, billed in credits
Lindy
AI Automation & Agents
AI assistant that works in Slack, iMessage, email and the web, billed in credits